User Manual
Advanced
Th' debug section in settings be used t' correct issues that may occur when usin' OnSong. Th' followin' be switches that inform OnSong t' perform certain functions when it starts up. Arrr, let's take a look at these options and how they may help get ye out o' a jam, matey.
Backup Media Files
By default, all media files such as audio backin' tracks and background images or video, be placed inside o' th' backup file. This can result in large backups that be difficult t' manage. Turn this option off t' prevent media files from bein' placed into th' backup file.
When ye restore a library that don't contain media files, OnSong keeps th' records o' that media but needs t' reestablish th' underlayin' media files. If ye import files o' th' same filename, OnSong will reestablish th' media record.
Clear Temporary Files
Turnin' on this option will clear temporary files when th' app be placed into th' background. This may be used if ye be runnin' out o' storage space on yer device. This be not recommended t' be used otherwise as it will affect performance and temporary files be cleared automatically by iOS when needed.
Forget Last Song
This be th' most important debug settin' t' keep in mind, savvy? If ye import a song that has incompatible content or be too large it may cause OnSong t' crash. Because OnSong remembers th' last song ye had viewed, this can cause a crash loop. In that case, open th' Settings app on yer device and turn on this settin'. Th' next time ye start OnSong, th' last known song will be forgotten and th' demo song will be viewed instead. This allows ye t' get back into OnSong and delete th' offendin' file.
Purge Database
Turnin' on this function will instruct OnSong t' delete yer current library and start over. When OnSong purges th' database, it jettisons th' library as a backup so ye can restore it later.
Reset Settin's
This be equal t' th' Reset Settin's tool found in th' Utilities Menu. It will remove all user preferences and reset th' settin's back t' th' factory defaults. This does not remove yer OnSong library. This can be useful if a combination o' settin's be causin' a problem when startin' OnSong.
Storage Location
Since its inception, OnSong has stored libraries inside o' th' OnSong app. This has caused some users t' lose their library when th' app be deleted or corrupted. Ye can change th' location o' OnSong libraries t':
- Local stores th' OnSong library folders inside o' th' app. This keeps th' library only accessible t' th' OnSong app, but also means that deletin' th' app will remove th' library.
- Shared stores th' OnSong library folders in an app group. This allows other, OnSong-created apps t' access yer library. It also means that deletin' th' app will not delete yer OnSong libraries. Ye will need t' delete libraries before uninstallin' th' OnSong app t' completely remove th' data.
Note: most o' these features be off and when turned on, will be reset t' off once th' action has been performed when OnSong starts up. This be by design.